top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerarussell2

What does it mean to belong?

Is it possible to feel we belong outside of the comfort of our families, homes, or communities? Is it possible that we can connect with a place or even a community and call that belonging somewhere? I know I feel a certain kind of connection or calmness when I'm around around water, tress, or mountains. But does that mean I belong there? Well, I believe it does. That's why I try to visit these places as often as I can - to go camping, fishing, or skiing. How about you? Do you feel any connection to a place, and could you think of it as a place where you feel you belong?


Well, this week we will begin looking at the concept of belonging as we read two beautiful stories: Shi-shi-etko, and When We Were Alone.

Each story outlines the significance of belonging and how we all have a strong connection to places, whether they be with our families in our homes, or exploring the land that provides us with comfort and sustenance. And it is through this lens that we will acknowledge Phyllis' story about her orange shirt. Orange Shirt Day, annually recognized on Sept. 30th, will be recognized at school on Monday Oct. 1st, and we are asking all teachers and students to wear an orange shirt to remind us that everyone belongs, and that everyone matters.

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page